Halos and Horns Rule #3: Cheaters

My biggest pet peeve is when people want the end before the beginning.  How do you know you can’t if you don’t at least try?

I recently watch a film called The Words.  Long story short,  it was about a guy who sucked at being a writer. Until one day (you guessed it) he didn’t suck anymore.  Because he stole someone else’s work (word for word) and used it. Blah blah blah.  [insert spoilers here] Pretty good film if you haven’t seen it.  I love Zoe Saldana. 

Anyway, many people wonder, how much can I take from someone else and still not be labeled a “cheater”? Well. You have to give credit where credit is due.  You have to pay for things if you want to use them and let people know how it came to be.

Many clients have no idea what they want when they ask me to design something.  It’s usually a long and painful (but fulfilling)  road to reach success. Sometimes they’ll see something online and want it for their design, exactly as it is.  No changes. Well,  we can’t just take something from the internet and claim it as our own.  If we did there would be a wave of lawyers, rules,  and fines for days.

I like to build my own designs.  Custom made.  All of it. Of the way down to the photography if I can.  If I can’t create it myself,  I search on free sites and purchase images when necessary. 

If you don’t love what you’re doing enough to do it yourself,  from start to finish, why bother doing it at all?

Stay golden friends!

Leave a Reply

